Going to Mars

On January 19, I will enter a habitat on the side of Mauna Loa with 5 other people. For 8 months, we will pretend to be astronauts on Mars, complete with freeze dried food and a 40 minute round-trip communication delay.

Q: 5 other people, you say. How big is this habitat?

A: About 1200 square feet downstairs, 400 upstairs. Or in other terms, four times the size of my first NYC apartment with only three times the people.

Q: But why?

A: BECAUSE SCIENCE. I believe that human space exploration is critically important for our species, both practically and culturally. Also it actually sounds like my idea of a good time.

Q: What are you going to do there?

A: Read this blog and find out!

6 thoughts on “Going to Mars

  1. So exciting, Laura! Looking forward to reading all about your amazing adventure.
    (Hope you realize that you are ceding all creative control of your apartment renovation to your dear hubby. Just sayin’. ) ❤ Cass

    Like

  2. I saw an article about the 5th mars mission simulation on NPR and followed that to a link to University of Hawaii and that brought me here. I am very interested to hear about the progress that you and your team make during this simulation. If you aren’t too tired I would love to see pictures posted of your environment.
    I am trying to get my grandchildren interested in Mars.
    Good luck to you and your team mates.

    Like

  3. Hello! I´m brazillian and I am very exciting to all this. Good Luck there… I am psychologist, and I am looking foward to read all about this misson!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

